- Currents Bluewater Cruising - http://currents.bluewatercruising.org -

Are You Eligible for a BCA Cruising, Service or Perpetual Award?

Are you eligible for a cruising or service award?

Have you just returned from offshore?

Would you like to nominate someone for an offshore or perpetual award?

Ever since the first awards were presented in November 1978 (see details on pg 10 in the Sept 2007 article [1] written by BCA Historian, Glenora Doherty), BCA has celebrated its members’ achievements at annual awards ceremonies that take place in December in each Chapter.  These happy occasions, which are shared with the membership at large, inspire the “dreamers” among us, encourage the “do-ers”, and remind the “doners” of their own bluewater experiences.

Cruising Awards

The Cruising Awards honour the sailing achievements of Bluewater Cruising Association skippers and their crews and/or their safe return to home port:

BCA Cruising Awards

Service Awards

The Service Awards recognize individuals who have served as Watchkeepers at the Chapter or Board of Director level, for an extended period of time, and those who are particularly deserving of recognition due to their unflagging volunteer contributions, often carried out quietly behind the scenes.

Perpetual Awards

The Perpetual Awards acknowledge unique sailing, organizational and sometimes humorous achievements and / or actions that are worthy of recognition; they are awarded from time to time:

Nomination / Application Process

Detailed information about BCA’s many sailing and perpetual awards, application criteria, and the nomination process can be found on the BCA website [2] and in the 2017 Member Directory, pp 20-22.  If you think you are eligible, or wish to nominate someone for an award, now is the time to do it!

You are encouraged to either apply for or nominate other members by contacting Past Commodore, Jennifer Handley [3].  All applicants will be required to provide detail about the qualifying voyage(s), including dates.

In order to allow time for review by the Awards Committee, engraving, and presentation at the three Chapters’ Awards Nights in December, all applications must be received prior to November 3, 2017.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Jennifer.