The Official Magazine of the Bluewater Cruising Association

2020 AGM and Awards Gala

Katrina Barnes

Miss Zelda
January 4th, 2021

On December 9, Bluewater Cruising Association held its 2020 Annual General meeting, as required by the BC Societies Act. This year we were unable to have an in-person December meeting and potluck, so both the AGM and the Awards Presentation that followed were held online for the first time. With the help of watchkeepers from Vancouver and Vancouver Island managing the registration and voting processes, the AGM was a great success. With BCA members signing in from multiple geographic areas we exceeded our quorum requirements and had wonderful representation from all three chapters.

AGM business was handled quickly and efficiently, including the approval of the proposed bylaw changes as sent out prior to the meeting. We finished up with the election of the 2021 Board of Directors. Thank you to the following for stepping forward (or remaining!) into these leadership roles:

  • Commodore: David Mitchell
  • Secretary: Katrina Barnes
  • Treasurer: Don Brown
  • Vancouver Vice-Commodore: Stephen Carlman
  • Vancouver Island Vice Commodore: Scott Crawshaw
  • Calgary Vice-Commodore: John Kortbeek

The Board says goodbye and thank you to Debbie Warren who is passing the torch of VI Vice-Commodore to Scott Crawshaw, and a warm welcome to Scott. BCA Vice Commodore position remains available: if you are interested or would like more information, please contact Leslie Hansen, Past Commodore.

The AGM was followed by the first ever online BCA awards presentation ceremony. Although we dearly missed being present in person to celebrate, the online format brought an unexpected bonus: many who might not have been able to attend in person were able to join in the celebration of the voyages and accomplishments being recognized, including many distinguished long term members and past award winners. The list of awards is available on the BCA website.

Thank you to the volunteers, watchkeepers and board members who worked so hard to make this a success, with a very special ‘Thank You’ to Al Kitchen, John Oliver, Heather Marshall and Vimmy Dhillon who guided us through the logistics and technology needed to make both the AGM and the Awards night run so smoothly. And finally, a big thank you to all the members who took the time to join us and make the evening a such a smashing success!


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *