- Currents Bluewater Cruising - https://currents.bluewatercruising.org -

Calling for Nominations: BCA Cruising, Service and Perpetual Awards (2018)

Ever since the first awards were presented in November 1978 (see Sept 2007 article [1], page 10), BCA has recognized its members’ achievements at annual awards ceremonies that take place in December in each Chapter.  These celebratory occasions, shared with the membership at large, inspire the “dreamers” among us, encourage the “do-ers”, and remind the “doners” of their own bluewater experiences.

So, if your answer is “yes” to any or all of the following questions, now is the time to act!

  • Have you just returned from offshore?  Are you eligible for a cruising award?
  • Are you retiring from a Chapter Watch or the Board of Directors after a minimum of three consecutive years of service?
  • Do you know someone who is eligible for a cruising or service award or deserves special recognition with a perpetual award?

If you think you are eligible for an award, or know someone who is, please speak up!  The greatest compliment you can pay to a fellow BCA member is to put them forward as a nominee.

Cruising Awards

The Cruising Awards honour the sailing achievements of Bluewater Cruising Association skippers and their crews and/or their safe return to home port:

BCA cruising and service awards

Service Awards

The Service Awards recognize individuals who have served as Watchkeepers at the Chapter or Board of Director level, for an extended period of time, and those who are particularly deserving of recognition due to their unflagging volunteer contributions, often carried out quietly behind the scenes.

Perpetual Awards

The Perpetual Awards acknowledge unique sailing, organizational and sometimes humorous achievements and / or actions that are worthy of recognition; they are awarded from time to time:

Nomination / Application Process

Detailed information about BCA’s many sailing and perpetual awards, the nomination process and application criteria can be found on the BCA website [2] and in the 2018 Member Directory, pp 20-24.  To apply for and/or nominate other members for any of the above awards (excluding the Peterson Cup), please email Past Commodore, Jennifer Handley [3].  All applicants for cruising awards will be required to provide detail about the qualifying voyage(s), including dates.  Nominations for Service or Perpetual awards will be required to include detail about nature of service to BCA, including dates, and/or address specific award criteria.

In order to allow time for review by the Awards Committee, engraving, and presentation at the three Chapters’ Awards Nights in December, all applications must be received prior to October 31, 2018.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Jennifer.